Fear NOT the beet

Now, there is a big difference in flavor between the red beet and yellow or golden beet. The yellows are brighter in flavor, and not quite as earthy. So, if you have written off beats because you think they taste like dirt, try a golden beet.

As an Italian girl, I know my way around a pasta. When I eat an Alfredo, I need something to break up the weight of all that cheese and pasta. The golden beet is the perfect candidate for this. Cut the beets in halves and boiled them till you can stick a fork in them. Wash cold water over them, or stick them in the freezer for a few minutes. This way the skins can just be pushed off with ease.

In a saucepan combine butter or oil with fresh garlic. When the garlic is cooked, add some cream or half and half. When that starts to simmer, add a hunk of Ricotta cheese (I posted some good grocery store stuff, nice and creamy). Add a half-cup of Parmesan (sharp) or Romano (sweet), some red pepper flake, a touch of sea salt and fresh ground pepper (white if you have it). Melt it all together and pour it over some pasta that you like. I used angel hair because it cooks fast. Check it out: I cooked the beets before the pasta so I could cook the pasta in the left over beet juice water.

Now finish it off with some chopped Italian parsley. My grandmother put this in everything. Bellissimo! Now say AHHHHHH…

Artwork and images by Lori Esposito

2 thoughts on “Fear NOT the beet

  1. The Beet Queen! Everybody loves an Italian girl! Yummmm. I would love to get my hands on a variety of beets but have only found red ones when shopping. Maybe the farmers market? Boiling the pasta in the beet water was clever way of imparting more flavor into the pasta. ❤ XOXO

Leave a Reply

