Grilled Portobello Stacks

Dang Lori, your recent posts have had me hungry!

What an influence you were in my grocery shopping yesterday. I bought bok choy, and shiitake mushrooms – your dish looks too good not to try. That, and some yucca and marmalade from figs from the ethnic foods isle. Oh how I love figs. I picked up some dried figs as well, still thinking of that Fig Almond Cake we had with Brie and apples on the Cape, I’d like to recreate it.

So I was working till dark last evening on re-bedding my leaky center hatch with new caulking. Yay, major fix! Afterwards, I turned the grill on for dinner and brushed both sides of 2 large Portobellos with a little olive and sesame oil and a sprinkling of salt and pepper.

Threw them on the hot grill, gill sides down for a few minutes, then flipped over for a few minutes on the other side. The gill side of the mushroom makes a nice platform for stacking toppings on, which I covered with slices of tomato, avocado and mozzarella cheese till melted. These beauties rested a top a salad bed of peppery arugula greens with yet more tomato and avocado bites thrown in.

Sorry the photo is blurry, the boat is dimly lit, it really doesn’t do them justice.

2 thoughts on “Grilled Portobello Stacks

    • I might try a low protein/fat version of this. Perhaps a veggie burger, or lamb? I really like that it is a “stack” instead of a burger on a bun. How is the juicer going, yo?

Leave a Reply

