For the Love of Mango Lassi

mango peeled
mango lassi glassI keep craving mango lately, I think it’s my body’s way of telling me I belong in the tropics. The key to eating mango is it has to be very ripe. So ripe, the outside looks a little ugly, but that’s when it’s at it’s prime sweetness. You’ll know it by its bright yellow flesh.

Peel and loosely chop mango. Blend with a little milk, add a few ice cubes (or without the ice cubes put in fridge for a while when finished blending). When it’s a creamy consistency add a few dollops of plain yogurt, a drizzle of honey and lightly pulse till mixed (don’t over blend yogurt).

One of the doctors in the condo told me that all you need to survive and get your daily nutrients is a mango and a glass of milk. I don’t know if that’s true or not, but here’s to survivin’!

This drink is traditionally from India and made in various forms and spice combinations which I found interesting.

Leave a Reply

