Farmer’s Market Feast

Hey, it’s Lori. I got up early today and went to the first wintertime farmer’s market in Pawtucket (see interior and exterior view of building). It was fantastic between the fresh produce, gazillions of varieties of apples, pickle contest and bluegrass band, I couldn’t get enough of the festive vibe.

I got myself some Cocoa Beet Cake by a local baker Babbette’s Feast. The ingredients are listed on the package:

Organic beets, Flour, Cocoa powder, Brown sugar, Butter, Eggs, Binalla extract, Baking soda, Cinnamon & salt (a tiny bit from what I can taste).

It may sound weird, but it was ultra delicious, the beet taste comes at the very end. I like that it reminds me of an earthy chocolate cake. Perfect for an earthy virgo. They didn’t skimp on the chocolate either, nice and rich.

Tonight I made a mini feast from the items I purchased at the farmer’s market:Steamed rainbow chard, tri-colored cherry tomato,  yellow wax peppers, steamed red beets, rosemary olives, chunks of brie, marinated artichoke hearts. I poured a dill mustard and apple cider vinegar dressing (sea salt and pepper, cayenne pepper, lime juice and olive oil) on top of the hot/cold medley.

One thought on “Farmer’s Market Feast

  1. What a cute and festive market that is and is at place among the artist community, very cool. That plate of veggies looks amazing and I you inspired to bake up cocoa beet cake, yum!

Leave a Reply

