Fresh Apple Crumble

Hey Katt, I got up early this morning because there was so much to get done today. I wanted to make sure that I fit the apple crumble in, so I brewed a pot of coffee, went out to the apple tree and pick the remaining apples (most of them anyway). Duane was so sweet to get out of bed early too (of course once he got his coffee buzz on) and help me peel and slice them. After all, I had to pies to make.

peeling

I bought a couple of graham cracker crusts so there would be plenty. These things go pretty fast around here. After cutting the apples and squeezing some lemon juice on top so they don;t brown, I pre heated the oven at 350.

crumble1

I made my crumble/crisp by taste and intuition.

  • About 2 cups of oats
  • a cup of almonds
  • 1/2 cup of walnuts
  • 1/2 or so of brown sugar
  • cinnamon and nutmeg to taste
  • Dash or two of salt
  • 4 or 5 tablespoons of butter

The magic of the food processor – mixed the ingredients enough to homogenize the mixture, but not too much to lose that crispy texture. Duane and I couldn’t stop snacking on this mixture prior to baking.

crumbleNext comes the glaze. Heat on medium low till mixture thickens.

  • 2 cups of apple cider
  • a couple of splashes of pure cranberry juice
  • dash of cinnamon
  • 2-3 tablespoons of cornstarch

tree

Here you can see the pie filling before and after the crumble was added. We shot this under our beloved apple tree. They baked in the oven for about 1 hour. The pies were put on a rack in the middle of the oven. Not too close to the heat so as not to burn.

They did come out toasty on top!

2 thoughts on “Fresh Apple Crumble

Leave a Reply

