La La, Frittata

photo-25Arlo with hand knit sweater from friend – may be another month or two before it fits at the rate he is growing! A view of our fields outside the living room window, makes me want to eat some protein.

Hey Katt, I have to say I very much enjoyed your roast post, and it will definitely spawn a rich stew in the coming days. My mom also made something similar which my sister and I un-appreciate-tively called ‘sewer soup’. But we ate it anyway and I am certain it benefited us greatly. I find it amazing that you can make such a thing on a boat – and I can imagine it helped to fortify you two admist the hauling and shoveling (scrubbing, screwing and unscrewing etc.) (;

photo-23

Not that I am trying to advertise in this blog, but I find that seeing ingredients is a nice visual guide – plus I like certain products quite a lot and living in a small town in southeastern Ohio makes it difficult to get access to certain things. At the same time we are fortunate to have some great local/regional products. Fisher is presenting the Snowville Creamery Whole Milk that we practically live on. Only the good stuff in the ingredients – and their yogurt is awesome too. These cheeses on the right added a nice touch to the frittata, ricotta is something I have been cooking with a lot lately.

photo-26

Ingredients: all into a 9″ ceramic pie pan

  • 5 eggs
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1 cup ricotta mixed with one egg and 1/2 cup grated Romano/Parmesan cheese
  • Large fresh  mozzarella ball
  • finely chopped Asparagus (5-6 branches)
  • 1 large clove chopped
  • Scoop or two of basil or tomato pesto
  • red pepper flakes, salt and pepper

Yup, basically I mixed five eggs together with 3/4 cup of milk and finely chopped asparagus, chopped garlic, and basil pesto. I tore up the fresh mozzarella and mixed together half of the ricotta with an egg. I added some freshly and finely grated Romano Parmesan into the ricotta mixture. The cheeses are placed into the egg and asparagus mixture in lumps. Sprinkle top with dill, red pepper flakes, salt, pepper.

photo-22

It is a light and fluffy, yet creamy/cheesy savory pie. Also low carb, Duane calls it a crust-less quiche. It was cooked on 350 for about 35-40 min – it will smell ready and fluff up and get a little toasty around the edges.

photo-28

This one is from last week – the same process but the mixture involves 3 cups of finely chopped fresh spinach, garlic, red pepper flakes and some thinly sliced tomatoes on top for zest. I may have also thrown in a few sun dried tomatoes. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “La La, Frittata

  1. I agree. I am glad you showed the products. Your meal looks simply wonderful and you have a beautiful baby!

Leave a Reply

