Apple Raisin Cinnamon French Toast

Hey Lori, I thought I’d share another goodie made from my Amish market finds, Apple Raisin Cinnamon French Toast. Not much of a recipe but I’m pretty sure it was the best (Amish) French toast I’ve ever had (even better then the Panettone french toast I made during the holidays). Sweet enough on its own with streusel topping it didn’t need maple syrup. A special treat breakfast.

  • 3 eggs scrambled in a bowl
  • Splash of cream and vanilla extract
  • Sprinkle of cinnamon and nutmeg

Dip the bread in the egg mixture and coat both sides. Place in frying pan with a pat of melted butter.

Amish French toast

This kept us going for the day ahead spent fully insulating the v-berth sleeping quarters. As small of a space as a boat is to heat, without any insulation keeping it in, it quickly is absorbed by the cold surrounding hull. Boats aren’t just capable of leaking from underneath the waterline or from the topsides but also from within – in the form of condensation and air moisture from frivolous activities like breathing. The sides of the hull forward were damp, allowing mold and ice crystals to form along its edge. And who wants to curl up next to moldy ice? So a full day was devoted to pulling everything out of the bow, washing all the surfaces down with a bleach cleaner concoction and cutting foam insulation to fit the sides. It’s not the prettiest looking, like sleeping inside a cooler or pizza delivery bag, but what a huge difference it has made! I’m still marveling at the novelty of needing to shed blankets at night now from over heating.

insulated v-berth

Full insulated V-berth

I also wanted you to see how great the Frittata recipe I made of yours the other night turned out! For the veggie filling I sautéed 1/2 an onion, 2 cloves of garlic, 2 handfuls of chopped baby spinach and about 4 – 5 sliced baby bella mushrooms. Luckily I had on hand the same seasonings ingredients you used:  a big spoonful of jarred pesto, some red pepper flakes and dill. And I still have half a container of ricotta cheese left over to use…hmm think I see some ricotta lemon cookies in my future.

frittata

“Winter is not a season, it’s an occupation.” 
― Sinclair Lewis

Leave a Reply

