Curried Sweet Potato Soup

Garnished with goat cheese, chopped Italian Parsley, and my crunch roasted cinnamon chick peas.

Garnished with goat cheese, chopped Italian Parsley, and my crunchy roasted cinnamon chick peas.

Hey Katt, I am finally getting to posting this soup. Things have been busier than usual, but I might mention that my uncle Joe died yesterday at 71 years of age. He was who I referred to as the most compassionate of my father’s side of the family. He was also the last person to spent significant time with Renee before she passed a couple of years ago. This post is dedicated to him, even though he may not have even liked a soup like this. Regardless, it was a soup made with time, dedication and love.

I looked at several sweet potato soups and found this combination of ingredients to be the most appealing:

  • 2 cups (or a can) of coconut milk
  • 1 can of chick peas
  • 2 cups of vegetable broth
  • 2 large, or 3 medium sweet potatoes
  • 4 or 5 small red potatoes
  • 1 red onion
  • Fresh ginger root – shred to taste
  • 4 cloves garlic chopped
  • 1 teaspoon curry
  • 1 teaspoon turmeric
  • 1 teaspoon coriander
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 3 tablespoons of honey
  • 1 teaspoon dried dill

photo-6

First thing I thought about while making this dish was how cooking is like a sacred act. Each ingredient is precious, harvested, collected and distributed by human energy for my consumption. Not only the visual beauty, but the texture, color and fragrance of these ingredients make them sacred. Handling, preparing and eating this soup is a treat to the senses and a celebration of life. In the long winter that this has been, so much reflection has happened on a daily basis, consideration of the great losses in my life, as well as the great blessings.

the potatoes cooked in separate pans - red potato with onion, garlic, ginger. Sweet potato cooked in butter with curry, turmeric, cracked pepper, and coriander. I also swirled some honey on top.

the potatoes cooked in separate pans – red potato with onion, garlic, ginger. Sweet potato cooked in butter with curry, turmeric, cracked pepper, and coriander. I also swirled some honey on top.

Cook everything but the coconut milk and chick peas and cinnamon in sauce pans. Let cool so they can be pureed later in a food processor with veg broth and coconut milk.

Red onion and red potato look so lovely together, Could color add a different sort of nutrition?

Red onion and red potato look so lovely together, Could color add a different sort of nutrition?

Make sure you wash your veggies well. And when it comes to cutting, I take pleasure in the selection of knife and process as the moist fragrance bursts into the air with each chop or slice. I like to smell my finger tips, particularly after slicing garlic and ginger.

photo-2

I added fresh lime to the coconut milk: find some gorillas singing ‘put the lime in the coconut’…

photo-11

Did you ever notice how ethereal garlic skins are? So translucent and soft. Kind of like my sweet Arlo. How patient he was while I made this concoction.

photo-14

This is an amazing touch. Rinse a can of chick peas and spread them out on a pan with some butter and cinnamon. Roast them by putting the over on broil and giving them an occasional stir till they are crunchy. They will serve as a perfect garnish for the soup.

photo-1

The mixture was not quite smooth enough the first time. Then I pureed it again and it tasted even better. Strange how much texture can really improve the experience of a soup.

I know you made a sweet potato soup (prompted coincidentally by a dream) so please share if you like!

One thought on “Curried Sweet Potato Soup

Leave a Reply

