Soy Turkey Stuffed Peppers

I needed something with protein, something filling, something with a zing of flavor…of course, stuffed peppers. I love soy turkey…my mom often used in in her famous vegetarian chili. If I were to cook it again, maybe I would do a slight variation of flavors in the different peppers. With this combination of flavors, I promise you will not miss the meat.

  • 1 lb of soy turkey
  • 4 poblano peppers
  • 4 red bell peppers
  • 1 onion
  • 1 cup of rice
  • 3-6 cloves of garlic
  • a few scoops of tomato paste
  • 1 can of stewed tomatos
  • Green or Black olives
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 teaspoon Paprika
  • 2-3 cups of sharp cheddar cheese
Cayenne pepper, the same color as my Calder print. Keeps the blood thin, anti viral.

Cayenne pepper, the same color as my Calder print. Keeps the blood thin, anti viral.

I love food, especially the spices that have been used for centuries – and for good reason. This Cayenne pepper combined with paprika gave my turkey a smokey rich flavor.

What can I say, I love my extra sharp white cheddar cheese.

What can I say, I love my extra sharp white cheddar cheese.

You can’t go wrong with cheese in this dish. I strongly suggest using some sharp or extra sharp cheddar. The cheese gets absorbed into the soy turkey, adding a fattiness that makes it taste just like real turkey meat.

Duane brought these beauties home and it was like getting a bouquet of flowers...that you can eat.

Duane brought these beauties home and it was like getting a bouquet of flowers…that you can eat.

These peppers differ in the nicest way – the poblanos are spicier and smokier, the red peppers are sweeter and tangy. I soaked them in a bowl of water before ‘gutting’ them. Take out the seeds and cut the top off.

some of the goods, most notable, the tomato paste. It gives the turkey a kick of flavor.

some of the goods, most notable, the tomato paste. It gives the turkey a kick of flavor.

To begin, cook in a large skillet pan some olive oil, one chopped onion and three-six cloves of garlic. Add tomato paste, and chopped canned tomato. Add your spices, cayenne pepper, paprika, salt and pepper.

yes, a lot of meat, but some rice, onion, and garlic is also in there. Oh yeah, and thanks to Katt's suggestion, Olives.

yes, a lot of soy turkey. Oh yeah, and thanks to Katt’s suggestion, Olives.

Add in small amounts gradually, soy turkey, when this is fully cooked, add the fully cooked ice of your choice (about one cup). Add olives or any other things like pickled garlic cloves or capers. Combine these ingredients with your cheese.

stuffed peppers

Here they are ready to go into the oven at 350 for about 35-40 min. Really, you could cook them longer or shorter but I like the peppers pretty well done. You want everything to congeal…you will need a fork and knife to eat these.

I don't think this pic does it justice, we were extremely happy with the results. A tomato-y ground turkey with rice and cheese baked inside of a pepper.

I don’t think this pic does it justice, we were extremely happy with the results. A tomato-y turkey flavor with rice and cheese baked inside of a pepper.

Here we are with the final result. So yummy. Let me know how you like this one. For a non vegetarian variation, try a rice and chicken combo with cinnamon, cumin and raisins.

One thought on “Soy Turkey Stuffed Peppers

  1. Smoky with heat, meaty, cheesy with savory roasted vegetables sounds so delicious. A winning combination in your edible bouquet. Nice comparison of the Calder and cayenne!

Leave a Reply

