Sail Mix

sail mix

It’s snowing again today… what the heck, ENOUGH WITH THE SNOW ALREADY! It’s suppose to be Spring! The last of the cold weather feels like the remaining miles of a marathon. I deserve a T-shirt  that says “I SURVIVED 12 WINTERS ABOARD” or something like that, who knows.. I’ve lost count.

sail mix

I’m not sure how this will go over with your sugar-free detox but this is a snack mix I’ve been making for a while now. It’s basically a knock off of a ‘Ginger Zinger’ trail mix I like that goes for $6 a (1.25 cup) bag. If you do get a sweet tooth craving, dried fruit is a decent option. I found Aldi’s to be the cheapest supplier of nuts around. I get a bag of walnuts (or cashews), roasted almonds, mixed berries and raisins. From Trader Joes I get the specialty items: uncrystalized candied ginger and hazelnuts. Then I make a big batch and portion them into 1/4 cup snack bags, or else its way easy to over indulge. Makes for a good snack on the go to help keep from getting famished.

  • 1/2 cup of oven roasted unsalted Almonds
  • 1/2 cup of dry roasted unsalted Hazelnuts
  • 1/2 cup of shelled Walnut halves
  • 1/2 cup of Mixed Dried Berries (cranberries, blueberries and cherries)
  • 1/4  cup of Raisins
  • 1/4 cup of chopped of Candied Ginger

Jumble it all up, makes 10 servings. With all the leftover bagged nuts and berries you can make it several times over again.

summer sailing

Sail On Silver!

Leave a comment